Kesäkoodi final report and OpenMind 2009 presentation

Here’s the final version of my final report. I hope I don’t have to make any changes to it any more.

Final report (.pdf)

I’ll be at OpenMind 2009 along with the other summer coders. This little video will be screened. It’s got a few slides, then a little demo of Libwm action and some more slides coupled with a nice tune by Kitkaliitto.

This concludes my summer code work and this blog. Work with Libwm will go on and new features will be added when I need them, bugs will be fixed when I find them (or someone reports them). Help is welcome and contributions will be accepted.

2 Responses to “Kesäkoodi final report and OpenMind 2009 presentation”

  1. internet Says:

    “My fear is that the project would not catch any attention and would end up gathering dust”

    Well you was completely wrong. The xcb project were at least something useful as template for x11 future. As you can see the Libwm is just a dust …

    • Riku Salminen Says:

      Utility libraries such as Libwm always face the risk of turning into bitrot. To avoid that fate, the library would need a solid userbase, something that’s not easy to achieve.

      This, however does not change the fact that Libwm is significantly more full-featured than some of the other alternatives for OpenGL context management out there. OpenGL 3+, better support for pixel formats and explicit context management is something that’s still lagging behind in many the alternatives.

      Too bad I haven’t had the time to do any OpenGL coding lately. When I do I will use (and update) Libwm. That is, if I’ll be using C++.

      I guess that updating an existing framework such as GtkGlExt would have been money better spent (wider audience, etc) than writing Libwm.

Leave a comment